Sunday, July 31, 2011

Vegetarian S'mores

S'mores are a summer staple, but marshmallows aren't exactly vegetarian friendly. Vegan marshmallows exist, but they're expensive and not always readily available. I'm sure I'm not the first person to think of this, but I use banana instead of marshmallow. Cut a piece of ripe banana that's about the size of a marshmallow. Roast it over an open flame until it gets a little toasted. Make sure it doesn't fall off the stick as it softens. Assemble the s'more as usual. The banana should smush and melt the chocolate just like a toasted marshmallow would. Now vegetarians can join in the fun too! Enjoy!